Swatching Like There’s No Tomorrow

I have this thing where I sometimes like to match my nail polish to an item that I’m wearing.  And I have a pretty big collection of nail polish colors, so it’s usually pretty easy, right?  But then this one time, I tried to find the perfect raspberry red shade to match my Reed Krakoff bag, but after a good half-hour of comparing bottles I came to the absolutely shocking conclusion that nothing came even close.

After the initial shock died away, I knew that this was a problem I wasn’t willing to live with.  So, I decided to solve it: Shopparama Style.

The technique

The key to any good problem solving technique is that you first need to understand the true crux of the issue (this is also how I successfully navigated my three-month shopping ban and came out of the other end victorious with 5 new pairs of shoes, but that’s a story for another day).

In this case, as any nail polish enthusiast knows, the color that you see in the bottle is rarely going to be the same color on your nails.  What I really needed was a good swatching and cataloguing system, because it is just not efficient to go through 15 bottles only to discover that all the potential pink-leaning reds are actually orange-based (true story).

Fast forward a few weeks, a little eBaying here and there (as recommended in Jaztee‘s post), and some incidental fume inhalation later (which was strangely therapeutic), I can now immediately pick out the perfect greige or turquoise or magenta to my heart’s content.

Unfortunately, I can also pick out that there is no perfect raspberry red in my collection — and so the search continues…

6 thoughts on “Swatching Like There’s No Tomorrow

    • I was definitely inspired by your post! :)
      Strangely enough, doing all these swatches has made me buy more nail polish, probably because I can see the gaps in the color spectrum so much more clearly now…

  1. Arrrrggghhh….I might have just bought 200 of those nail tips…I have all my polishes swatched on popsicle sticks but it ain’t the same really…but it’s going to take me FOREVER to swatch all 150 of them again! It looks amazing though, good work!

    • I bought 150 sticks but I think I underestimated the number of bottles I have… Because I’m almost out of sticks…

      Paddle pop sticks sounds pretty ingenious actually — the efforts we go to for the love of nail polish!! =D

Leave a Reply

