The Woes of Credit Cards (while in San Francisco)

Before I left for my trip, I joked that I was only bringing $200 in cash and 3 credit cards. I ended up bringing 2 credit cards (packing light, you see), with heavy reliance on my 28 Degrees card. Which is why I was so distraught when, while trying to buy a Chloe Aurore satchel, that card was declined.

The pretty culprit:

20120325-165706.jpg

Me: What?? We haven’t even reached the shopping destinations yet!!

(As part of the trip research, it was decided that LA and SF would not involve designated shopping time because the sales tax is relatively high. It was also inwardly agreed that shopping would occur everywhere despite this official plan.)

Apparently, my card had been sent to fraud protection because they had picked up a suspicious pattern of spending. (There was no actual fraud, I’d just bought a pair of Ferragamo flats about 20 mins earlier.)

20120325-103501.jpg

So that’s how I spent about half an hour standing inside the Bloomingdales in Westfield, being transferred from one MasterCard representative to another, until I was told that my card would be cleared in 3 hours. For the record, I still think they just needed to press a button.

Unfortunately, when I tried to buy the bag again 3 hours later, it was still declined. Apparently the person who needed to press the button was “on lunch break” so the delay was taking longer than usual. I took this as a sign that I shouldn’t buy the bag, especially since it was seasonal and might go on sale, or at least to sleep on it until NYC (where there is 6 in stock) or on the Harrods website (where I’m sure it would be cheaper).

So I bought these Marc by Marc Jacobs rose gold heels instead, before quickly heading back to the hotel and stuffing it into my luggage and heading to the airport. You can’t see the heel, but they’re almost a cylinder or tear drop block heel.

20120325-165732.jpg

Shoe tally = 4

Also bought some clothes and accessories, my favourite of which is this jacket and bangle:

20120325-165752.jpg

20120325-165802.jpg

All in all, I give San Francisco a 7 out of 10 for shopping. Their sales tax may be relatively high, but their Bloomies applies the 10% visitors discount to Ferragamo shoes.

Sightseeing

As for the sightseeing, I also visited the Palace of Fine Arts, Golden Gate Bridge (from a distance, at various distances), Lombard St, Alcatraz, made the long walk up to Coit Tower, and ate lots of food including this shrimp/prawn in amazing Worcester sauce at Town Hall, which is an American restaurant with southern influences…. Yum. Also ate what seemed like a family bucket in fried chicken.

Here is the proof:

20120325-203606.jpg

20120325-170236.jpg

20120325-165819.jpg

20120325-165857.jpg

20120325-165931.jpg
This is the hill we climbed to get to the base of the Coit Tower (where we were met with… the stairs).

20120325-165917.jpg

20120325-165949.jpg

Next stop: Boston

11 thoughts on “The Woes of Credit Cards (while in San Francisco)

    • I love it so much! You need to unlock a padlock on the strap using a key to adjust the length! It’s a bit exxy for an impulse buy though… So I might wait a few days and decide. It’ll no longer be an impulse buy then 😉

  1. Too bad you didn’t get that satchel. Looks really cute. In love with your Marc Jacob heels. They’re screaming at me to buy them! Hehe…sounds like San Fran is treating you well. Have fun!

  2. Was it the 28 degrees that declined you? I think their fraud team is pretty on top of these things, they would’ve sent you an SMS…and blocked it cos you didn’t reply. Last time I made a large purchase overseas and 28 degrees sent me a SMS before I even left the shop…

    very much enjoyed ur blog btw

    =)

    • Hmm, I didn’t get an SMS I don’t think (or at least it didn’t show up when I put my sim card back in). Ah well, it’s probably for the best… there are other bags I want more I think.

Leave a Reply

