The Shopparama Anthem

I spent the last half-hour or so trying to write up an “About” page, with about 5 different false starts.  I mean, how could I possibly summarize in mere words what this blog is about, which in turn means summarizing my feelings about shopping?  It’s impossible, I tell you.

And then… I had a breakthrough.  This emotion inside of me can only be expressed through song, and tonight I have found my anthem (and yes, the strength of the emotion does require some words to be punctuated in bold):

Shopping. We’re only happy when we’re shopping.
We’re only happy if we shop until we drop.
In search of bargains we will never stop.
When God created the universe, He pulled out all the stops.
First, He created all mankind. Then She created shops.
Shopping, we’re really happy when we’re shopping.
We’re really happy if we shop until we drop!
In search of bargains we will never stop, stop, stop!
We’ll shop and shop and shop, shop, shop!

– “Shopping Song”, by Monty Python

 

You can listen to the song here (starts at 1m25s, in case it doesn’t take you there automatically).  Even though the first song “Men, Men, Men” is amusing, let’s just be clear that is not my anthem!

And, er, let’s also just pretend we can’t see the feet, and the picture in the video is actually my coffee mug:

I'm Superficial, Whatever

5 thoughts on “The Shopparama Anthem

  1. Hi, I enjoy reading your site! Is it okay to contact your through your email? Please email me back.

    Thanks!

    Cailyn
    cailynxxx gmail.com

  2. Pingback: Liebster Award | Little Bennet

Leave a comment