Choices, choices, choices (and a review of J.Crew skirts)

The thing about shopping online is that your exposed to a lot of choice. That’s definitely one of the perks for me, because the search for a perfect tan saddle bag (or insert desired item) can seem endless when you’re looking in person. And it’s just so inefficient, with needing to walk in and out of shops, driving in and out of shopping centres? Really, so last century.

But what to do when you’re not looking for the perfect one, but just something you like and more than one catches your eye?

Sometimes you just gotta buy ’em all.

This is the story of how I ended up with 4 new skirts from J.Crew in the space of around 2 weeks.

J Crew skirts

After comparing my new goodies with the 2 I bought while in the US, I realised something odd: they all fit perfectly but ranged from a size 2 to a 6P (US sizing).  Weird, no?

Ok, perhaps that’s a little misleading — of course I knew I had ordered different sizes, and of course I did so purposely after looking at reviews and the like.  Here are some tips so that you too can hopefully order the right size on the first go:

  • I’d say a regular 4 in J.Crew translates to a AU8-10 for Country Road, Witchery, Saba etc.
  • The No. 2 pencil skirt, both the cotton and wool versions, for some reason runs large even for J.Crew sizing, so I would size down again
  • The cut of the Sterling Skirt is supposedly A-line but is really only 1-2cm wider than the No. 2 pencil skirt on each side at the hem
  • Go one size up if you’re getting a petite size, e.g. a regular size 2 is similar to a 4P.  In fact, I could tell no difference between the 2 and 4P for the No. 2 pencil skirt

But at the end of the day, sometimes you’ve just got to take the leap.  If it helps, even though J.Crew has gotten rid of their free shipping and free returns to Australia option (i.e. risk-free shopping), shipping now is only a flat rate of $10.  Really, isn’t that just 3 coffees in the grand scheme of things?  And returns are still free!

 

6 thoughts on “Choices, choices, choices (and a review of J.Crew skirts)

  1. I loooooved J crew when I lived in the US but had stopped looking online for fear of tempting myself when the shipping was ridiculous! But $10 is awesome…I think you’ve just caused me to find some new shopping lemmings…

    • Haha, I’m glad I could enable a fellow shopper! 😉

      Word of warning though, the mark up on the actual clothes themselves for the Aust website is still pretty ridiculous. They seem to be having regular discount codes for extra % off sale stock though, so maybe wait for that? There’s one at the moment, but it only applies to final sales so you can’t return.

      Otherwise, good luck!

    • It’s so easy to buy a second or a third when it fits!

      I also wish that J crew was more accessible in Australia, but oh well I’ll use it as an excuse to travel to the US 😉

Leave a comment